My research is transforming, stay tuned!

By John Mutua in crops livestock systems

March 31, 2021

A substantial part of my work over the years has been on crop and livestock systems, where I work to understand their functioning and response in East Africa, and how they can be transformed to be more productive. I have focused on how spatial modeling can contribute to decision making agricultural systems.

My research is transforming! towards livestock systems. A year ago, I led the development of a new method to map and assess heat stress in pigs. The results have been used to guide future investments and policy changes in Uganda. Further, the method has been further refined and consequently been applied across East Africa to highlight hot-spot areas of heat stress for six different livestock species and dairy cattle in West Africa.

Stay tuned for more, it’s exciting!

Posted on:
March 31, 2021
Length:
1 minute read, 130 words
Categories:
crops livestock systems
See Also: